What is Personal Injury Protection Coverage
Personal injury protection (PIP) is a type of no-fault auto insurance that covers portions of your medical bills (and sometimes lost wages) due to motor vehicle accidents. This is known as “no fault” coverage, which means that you will be covered even if the accident is your fault. PIP can also cover passengers in your vehicle. In Florida, all owners of a motor vehicle are required to have a minimum of $10,000.00 in PIP coverage. This coverage allows victims to receive funds to cover medical expenses without having to make a claim or file a lawsuit.
PIP in Florida
In 1971, Florida adopted the no-fault law. Numerous other states have also adopted the no-fault automobile law. Before PIP, the driver responsible for the accident could be sued by the injured driver for costs associated with medical bills and damage, as well as pain and suffering. This system led to lengthy lawsuits that often went to court and took a long time before coming to a resolution. The PIP law has simplified the process of claiming money after an accident and made it more efficient. Both parties are able to claim compensation for their medical expenses, regardless of who was responsible for the accident.
PIP provides monetary funds to help pay for medical bills and treatments associated with the accident. Compensation is paid quickly, eliminating the lengthy delays for reimbursement. PIP helps cover medical expenses, even if the driver is at fault. PIP coverage can also cover a portion of your lost wages if you have to miss work due to your injuries.
The Florida PIP law also makes it very hard for the injured to sue “at fault” drivers for non-medical suffering like stress, anxiety, or pain and suffering that may occur due to an accident. In order to make a claim for pain and suffering, you must prove that you have sustained a permanent injury as a result of the accident.
Many drivers have tried to make fraudulent claims over the years, even going as far as to stage accidents or getting unethical medical providers to falsify treatments that were not necessary or never administered. Over the years, the law has been revised to make it more fair and decrease fraudulent claims. The minimum PIP insurance required for all drivers is $10,000.00 and this has not changed since the law was implemented in 1971. It has been argued that this amount should be increased due to the rising medical costs. If your medical bills are more than that amount, you will be responsible for the difference.
Should I Hire an Attorney?
Hiring an attorney can help reduce stress and anxiety, save you time, and improve your chances of being compensated for medical expenses. In order to receive PIP coverage, you must receive medical treatment within 14 days of the accident. If you wait longer than the 2 weeks, your claim may be rejected. In order to make a claim, you need to contact your insurance company. They will document the details of the injuries caused by the accident and treatment that you received for these injuries.
If you have questions about your medical bills or need help with your auto accident